I am alone, gazing from my window to the streets below

Jag har en diktsamling från när jag läste litteraturvetenskap på universitetet. Modern utländsk lyrik - från Baudelaire till Biermann. Eller MUL, som vi på litvet kallade den. Den är bra. Där finns en text av Paul Simon med. Ni vet, Simon i Simon & Garfunkel. Jag älskar den här texten. För den som känner till litteraturhistoria dras paralleller till John Donnes ord No man is an island och Hemingway som använde uttrycket som motto i For whom the bell tolls.

Texten nedan ska egentligen höras och inte läsas, men detta är en skrivblogg och ingen ljudblogg så jag bjuder på texten ändå.

Har du hört den förut, lyssna till den igen:


A winters day
In a deep and dark december;
I am alone,
Gazing from my window to the streets below
On a freshly fallen silent shroud of snow.
I am a rock,
I am an island.
Ive built walls,
A fortress deep and mighty,
That none may penetrate.
I have no need of friendship; friendship causes pain.
Its laughter and its loving I disdain.
I am a rock,
I am an island.

Dont talk of love,
But Ive heard the words before;
Its sleeping in my memory.
I wont disturb the slumber of feelings that have died.
If I never loved I never would have cried.
I am a rock,
I am an island.

I have my books
And my poetry to protect me;
I am shielded in my armor,
Hiding in my room, safe within my womb.
I touch no one and no one touches me.
I am a rock,
I am an island.

And a rock feels no pain;
And an island never cries.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback